Children's Rights and Child Care



White House in a Grey City
Written and Illustrated by Itzchak Belfer
A Child of Janusz Korczak

Our Office has partnered with the Janusz Korczak Association of Canada to produce two books written by those who, as children, lived in an orphanage during the 1930s and 40s in Poland run by a man many considered to be "the father of children's rights."

These books were published to demonstrate that residential care can embody the rights and voice of children and youth, and show how circumstances can be different for those in care today.

The second of these two books, "White House in a Grey City" written by Itzchak Belfer, is available for download here.

Download the book

Belfer memoirs


Taking Root:
My life as a child of

Janusz Korczak
–the father of children’s rights–
The biography of
Shlomo Nadel

By ratifying the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child in 1991, Canada made a commitment to ensure that all children are treated with dignity and respect. This commitment includes that they be given the opportunity to have a voice, be protected from harm and be provided with their basic needs and every opportunity to reach their full potential.

The Convention is based on four principles:

  • Article 3 : The best interests of the child should be the first consideration for actions that affect a child
  • Article 6 : All children have the right to life, survival and development
  • Article 12 : All children have the right to participate; and,
  • Article 2 : All rights belong to all children without discrimination or exception.

The Convention also acknowledges the key role of parents and families in the lives of children and young people. For a complete listing of the UNCRC, visit the UNICEF's child friendly backgrounder.


NEW Dr. Janusz Korczak: Champion of Children’s Rights

Dr. Janusz Korczak (1878 -1942) was a pediatrician, author, champion of child rights and a hero of the Holocaust. He is considered to be the prime inspiration of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) - one of the most widely adopted human rights instruments in the world. Adopted in 1989, the UNCRC changed how children were viewed and treated by outlining the inalienable rights of every child in three key areas: provision, participation and protection. Today, the human rights treaty has been ratified by 194 countries, including Canada.

Through the 1920s and 1930s until his death in 1942, Korczak focused on the health and welfare of orphans in Poland and created an orphanage in Warsaw, Poland that was built on a unique model of care that resembled a children’s republic.


Book launch: My Life as a Child of Janusz Korczak, the Father of Children’s Rights – The biography of Shlomo Nadel

In the fall of 2015, the Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and youth partnered with the Janusz Korczak Foundation of Canada to publish the book: My Life as a Child of Janusz Korczak, the Father of Children’s Rights – The biography of Shlomo Nadel, by Lea Lipiner. In recognition of International Human Rights Day (December 10th), the Provincial Advocate and UNICEF Canada hosted a book launch event at the Ontario Legislature (including an exhibit of photos from the book) and called on the provincial government and child welfare leaders to adopt lessons from “the father of children’s rights.”


Download the book



Book launch news release and backgrounders

 


Click here to view photos of Dr. Korczak’s orphanage, taken by Shlomo Nadel (source: Janusz Korczak Association of Canada website)


Related Resources and Events



Biographies

  • Dr. Janusz Korczak
  • Janusz Korczak, the pen name of Henryk Goldszmit (July 22, 1878 – August 1942), was a Polish-Jewish author, pediatrician, pedagogue and hero of the Holocaust. He was an early proponent of children’s right for human dignity and respect and the value of dialogue with children as friends and partners. He has become an international symbol of the fight for social justice and rights for vulnerable children, and his theories have inspired, amongst numerous advocate groups, the UN Convention of Rights of the Child - one of the most widely adopted rights instrument in the world.

    Through the 1920s and 1930s, until his death in 1942, Korczak focused on the health and welfare of orphans in Poland. He created an orphanage built upon a unique philosophy of child-centred care where children and youth participated in the production of their own food, wrote and produced their own newspaper, voiced their own needs, and operated their own Children’s Court to deal with behavioural problems. For a complete biography, please visit the Janusz Korczak Association of Canada at http://www.januszkorczak.ca/biography/

    Initially, Korczak’s orphanage served children of all backgrounds. However, after Nazi Germany occupied Warsaw, non-Jewish children were removed from his care and his orphans were segregated into the Jewish ghetto. Korczak is most widely known for the infamous “March of the Children”. Although he was given a reprieve, when the staff and children of his orphanage were ordered to be deported, he refused to leave his children. On August 5, 1942 he accompanied them on a march through the Warsaw Ghetto into the cattle cars that took them to the gas chambers of Treblinka, where they perished together. An eyewitness described the event.

    “Forced into tight formation, body against body, driven by guards, wielding whips on all sides, the solid mass of humanity was forced to run toward the train platforms. Suddenly the commandant ordered the Secret Police to pull back.

    At the head of the line was Korczak! No, how could it be? The scene I shall never forget. In contrast to the mass of humanity being driven like animals to slaughter, there appeared a group of children marching together in formation. They were the orphanage children walking four abreast in line behind Korczak. His eyes were lifted to heaven. Even the military personnel stood still and saluted. When the Germans saw Korczak, they asked, `Who is that man?"

  • Shlomo Nadel
  • Shlomo Nadel was born in 1920 in Warsaw, Poland. His father died when he was very young and his mother was forced to place Shlomo in Dr. Korczak’s orphanage and his younger brother Simcha (Samek) in a very different type of orphanage. Nadel thrived during his time at the orphanage (1927 -1935) and became the resident photographer. It was the orphanage’s policy to “discharge” children at the age of 15. It was a harsh reality for Nadel to face, but the skills he acquired served him well.

    Nadel lived in the Warsaw Ghetto for a time and left Poland in 1939 to go to Russia. As he was leaving, he was robbed of his photos at knifepoint and it was only due to the unlikely intervention of a German Officer that they were returned to him and he was able to escape. His mother refused to leave Poland and she and Samek perished there. Nadel worked at a photographic laboratory in Russia, but with the outbreak of war between Germany and Russia, he was conscripted to work in the Ural Mountains, repairing railroad tracks. One day, and for no apparent reason, he took his photo album to work with him. When he returned, he discovered that the workers’ sleeping quarters had been destroyed by fire. It was the second miraculous survival of the photographs. Nadel married his wife Frieda in 1946 and they immigrated to Israel in 1950, where he had a photographic shop and became involved with the activities of the Janusz Korczak Society. Nadel’s photographs finally reached Eretz, Israel and are on display at the US Holocaust Memorial Museum. Today, Nadel and his family live in Ramle, Israel.

  • Lea Lipiner, author
  • Lea Lipiner was eight years old when she moved to Israel in 1957. She and her sister spent their first summer vacation in the home of Shlomo Nadel and his family, who are close friends of Lipiner’s parents. Over the years, Nadel included Lipiner in his meetings with children and youth-leaders from Korczak’s children’s home, who were then living in Israel. She credits those experiences with her decision to embark on a profession in the field of education. Korczak’s pedagogical methods have influenced her work throughout the thirty-five years of teaching young children in various places in Israel and abroad. Given their close relationship and Lipiner’s admiration for Korczak’s teachings, Nadel asked her to write his memoirs. Lipiner lives in Israel with her husband and family.

Children's Rights and Child Care



White House in a Grey City
Written and Illustrated by Itzchak Belfer
A Child of Janusz Korczak

Notre Bureau s’est associé à la Janusz Korczak Association of Canada afin de faire paraître deux livres écrits par des personnes qui, enfants, ont vécu au cours des années 1930 et 1940 dans un orphelinat en Pologne, dirigé par un homme que beaucoup ont considéré comme « le père des droits de l’enfant ».

Ces livres ont été publiés pour démontrer que les soins en établissement peuvent respecter les droits et la personnalité des enfants et des jeunes, et pour montrer à quel point la situation peut être différente pour les enfants actuellement pris en charge.

Le dernier de ces deux livres « White House in a Grey City », écrit par Itzchak Belfer, peut être téléchargé ici.

Cliquez ici pour télécharger le livre

Belfer memoirs


Taking Root:
My life as a child of

Janusz Korczak
–the father of children’s rights–
The biography of
Shlomo Nadel

Par la ratification de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant des Nations Unies en 1991, le Canada s’est engagé à veiller à ce que les enfants soient traités avec dignité et respect. Cet engagement sous-tend que les enfants doivent avoir la possibilité de se faire entendre, d’être protégés contre les dangers, de voir leurs besoins fondamentaux comblés et de réaliser leur plein potentiel.

La Convention est fondée sur quatre principes:

  • Article 3 : Dans toutes les décisions qui concernent les enfants, l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant doit être une considération primordiale.
  • Article 6 : Tous les enfants ont le droit à la vie, à la survie et au développement.
  • Article 12 : Tous les enfants ont le droit de participer.
  • Article 2 : Tous les enfants bénéficient de ces droits, sans discrimination ni exception.

La Convention reconnaît également le rôle clé que les parents et les familles jouent dans la vie des enfants et des jeunes. Pour obtenir une liste complète des droits figurant dans la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant des Nations Unies, veuillez consulter ici (version anglaise seulement).


Dr Janusz Korczak : le défenseur des droits de l’enfant

Le Dr Janusz Korczak (1878 -1942) était pédiatre, auteur et défenseur des droits de l’enfant. Il est considéré comme la principale source d’inspiration de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant des Nations Unies - un des instruments relatifs aux droits de la personne les plus largement adoptés au monde. Adoptée en 1989, la Convention a changé la façon dont les enfants étaient considérés et traités en mettant de l’avant les droits inaliénables de chaque enfant dans trois principaux domaines : la prestation de services, la participation et la protection. Aujourd’hui, le traité sur les droits de la personne a été ratifié par 194 pays, dont le Canada.

Pendant les années 1920 et 1930 et jusqu’à sa mort en 1942, le Dr Korczak s’est consacré à la santé et au bien-être des orphelins de la Pologne, et il a fondé un orphelinat à Varsovie d’après un modèle de soins tout à fait unique, s’inspirant d’une république pour enfants.


Lancement du livre : My Life as a Child of Janusz Korczak, the Father of Children’s Rights – The biography of Shlomo Nadel

À l’automne 2015, le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes s’est associé à la Janusz Korczak Foundation of Canada pour publier le livre de Lea Lipiner intitulé : My Life as a Child of Janusz Korczak, the Father of Children’s Rights – The biography of Shlomo Nadel. Pour souligner la Journée internationale des droits de la personne le 10 décembre, l’Intervenant provincial et UNICEF Canada ont organisé un lancement de livre à la Législature de l’Ontario (avec une exposition de photos tirées du livre) et invité le gouvernement provincial et des responsables de la protection de l’enfance à tirer des enseignements du « père des droits de l’enfant ».


Cliquez ici pour télécharger le livre



Cliquez ici pour consulter le communiqué et les documents
d’information sur le lancement du livre

 


Cliquez ici pour voir le diaporama des photos de l’orphelinat du Dr Korczak prises par Shlomo Nadel (source : site Web de la Janusz Korczak Association of Canada)


Ressources et activités connexes



Biographies

  • Dr. Janusz Korchak
  • Janusz Korczak, dont le pseudonyme était Henryk Goldszmit (22 juillet 1878 – août 1942), était un auteur, pédiatre et pédagogue juif polonais, devenu un héros de l’Holocauste. Très tôt, il s’est posé en défenseur des droits des enfants, prônant la dignité humaine et le respect et insistant sur la valeur du dialogue avec les enfants considérés comme des amis et des partenaires. Janusz Korczak est devenu un symbole international de la lutte pour la justice sociale et des droits des enfants vulnérables, et outre de nombreux groupes de défense, ses théories ont inspiré la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l'enfant, l’un des instruments juridiques les plus largement adoptés dans le monde.

    Pendant les années 1920 et 1930, et jusqu’à sa mort en 1942, Janusz Korczak a axé ses efforts sur la santé et le bien-être des orphelins de Pologne. Il a fondé un orphelinat qui reposait sur une philosophie unique de soins centrés sur les enfants, où les enfants et les jeunes contribuaient à leur propre production alimentaire, rédigeaient et publiaient leur propre journal, formulaient leurs propres besoins, et faisaient appel à leur propre tribunal des enfants pour régler les problèmes de comportement. Pour une biographie complète, veuillez consulter le site de l’Association Janusz Korczak du Canada à http://www.januszkorczak.ca/biography/ (en anglais seulement).

    Au départ, l’orphelinat de Janusz Korczak accueillait des enfants de toutes origines. Toutefois, après l’occupation de Varsovie par l’Allemagne nazie, les enfants qui n’étaient pas juifs lui furent retirés, tandis que les orphelins qui restaient se retrouvèrent isolés dans le ghetto juif. Janusz Korczak est plus connu pour la célèbre « Marche des enfants ». Bien qu’il ait bénéficié d’un sursis quand le personnel et les enfants de son orphelinat ont reçu l’ordre d’être déportés, il a refusé de les abandonner. Le 5 août 1942, il les a donc tous accompagnés à pied à travers le ghetto de Varsovie jusque dans les wagons à bestiaux qui allaient les mener aux chambres à gaz de Treblinka, où ils devaient mourir ensemble. Un témoin raconte la scène.

    « Marchant en rangs serrés, corps contre corps, sous la coupe des gardes qui agitaient leur fouet de tous côtés, cette masse humaine fut forcée de courir vers les quais. Soudain, le commandant ordonna à la police secrète de reculer. À la tête de la colonne se trouvait Janusz Korczak! Non, comment était-ce possible? Je n’oublierai jamais cette scène. Contrastant avec la masse humaine que l’on conduisait comme des animaux à l’abattoir, est apparu un groupe d’enfants qui marchaient en formation. Il s’agissait des enfants d’un orphelinat qui avançaient en rang par quatre derrière Janusz Korczak. Il avait les yeux levés vers le ciel. Même le personnel militaire s’immobilisa pour le saluer. Quand les Allemands aperçurent Janusz Korczak, ils demandèrent : « Qui est cet homme? »

  • Shlomo Nadel
  • Shlomo Nadel est né en 1920 à Varsovie, en Pologne. Au décès de son père alors qu’il était encore très jeune, sa mère a été contrainte de placer Shlomo à l’orphelinat du Dr Korczak et son frère cadet Simcha (Samek) dans un tout autre type d’orphelinat. Shlomo Nadel a bien profité de son séjour (de 1927 à 1935) à l’orphelinat, dont il était devenu le photographe attitré. À l’époque, c’était dans la politique de l’orphelinat « d’autoriser le départ » des enfants à 15 ans. Une dure réalité à laquelle Shlomo Nadel a dû faire face, même si les compétences acquises à l’orphelinat devaient s’avérer très utiles.

    Shlomo Nadel a vécu dans le ghetto de Varsovie quelque temps avant de quitter la Pologne pour la Russie en 1939. Lors de son départ, on lui a volé ses photos sous la menace d’un couteau, et ce n’est que grâce à l’intervention inattendue d’un officier allemand qu’il les a récupérées et qu’il a pu s’échapper. Sa mère qui avait refusé de quitter la Pologne allait y périr, tout comme son frère Samek. Shlomo Nadel a travaillé dans un laboratoire photographique en Russie, jusqu’à ce qu’il soit mobilisé au déclenchement de la guerre entre l’Allemagne et la Russie pour aller réparer des voies ferrées dans l’Oural. Un jour, sans raison apparente, il a apporté son album photo au travail. En rentrant le soir, il a appris que les dortoirs des ouvriers avaient été détruits par un incendie. C’était la deuxième fois que ses photographies survivaient miraculeusement. Shlomo Nadel a épousé sa femme Frieda en 1946 et ensemble, ils ont émigré en Israël en 1950, où il a tenu un magasin de photos et a commencé à participer aux activités de la Société Janusz Korczak. Les photographies de Shlomo Nadel ont fini par atteindre la Terre d’Israël, et elles sont désormais exposées au Musée du Mémorial de l’Holocauste des États-Unis. Aujourd’hui, Shlomo Nadel et sa famille vivent à Ramla, en Israël.

  • Lea Lipiner, auteure
  • Lea Lipiner avait huit ans quand elle a déménagé en Israël en 1957. Sa sœur et elle ont passé leurs premières vacances d’été dans la maison de Shlomo Nadel et de sa famille, des amis proches des parents de Lea Lipiner. Au fil des années, Shlomo Nadel a invité Lea Lipiner à participer à ses rencontres avec des enfants et des responsables des jeunes du foyer pour enfants de Janusz Korczak, qui vivaient en Israël. Elle attribue à ces expériences sa décision d’entreprendre une carrière dans le domaine de l’éducation. Les méthodes pédagogiques de Janusz Korczak ont influencé son travail tout au long des trente cinq années où elle a enseigné à de jeunes enfants dans différentes régions d’Israël et à l’étranger. Étant donné leur relation privilégiée et l’admiration que Lea Lipiner porte aux enseignements de Janusz Korczak, Shlomo Nadel lui a demandé d’écrire ses mémoires. Lea Lipiner vit en Israël avec son mari et sa famille.